Every catheter ablation for atrial fibrillation depends on tiny electrical signals picked up inside the heart, and the systems that record them were built to filter out noise, often along with the faintest signals. CathVision, a Copenhagen company registered in March 2013, set out to build a recording amplifier quiet enough to keep those signals, with software that reads them for the cardiologist. In April 2019 the European Commission selected its project, CathVision Cube, in the 3 April 2019 cut-off of the EIC SME Instrument Phase 2, the Horizon 2020 forerunner of the EIC Accelerator, as a grant-only award. The list names CathVision as the only beneficiary of the project.
The grant was €2,175,621 towards a total cost of €3,169,281.25, for a project that ran from 1 August 2019 to 31 July 2021, according to CORDIS. CathVision's own announcement in October 2019 rounded it to €2.2 million. Seven years on, the system exists, is cleared for sale in the United States and the EU, and is used in American hospitals. The commercial promises attached to the grant are another matter.
Company file
- Legal entity
- CATHVISION ApS, CVR 35205500
- Registered
- 25 March 2013, Copenhagen
- Address
- Lygten 37, 2400 Copenhagen NV (Titangade 11 at the time of the grant)
- Executive board
- Mads Emil Matthiesen (CEO), Allan Renneberg Gersfelt-Larsen
- Chair
- Eric Thepaut, former President EMEA of Boston Scientific, from December 2025
- Registered owners
- Grac Société Simple (33.34 to 49.99%), Danmarks Eksport- og Investeringsfond (25 to 33.33%), Healthcare Ventures ApS (5 to 9.99%)
- Product
- ECGenius System with Cardialytics software modules
- Staff
- 13 on average in 2025; 20 employees, 14 full-time equivalents in July 2026
- EIC project
- CathVision Cube, grant agreement 872902, EIC SME Instrument Phase 2
Where CathVision Stands Now
CathVision is active. The Danish company register lists it as an active ApS, and it registered a capital increase on 24 August 2026 that lifted its share capital from DKK 948,454 to DKK 1,010,377, according to North Data and ownr. Changes of shareholding involving Danmarks Eksport- og Investeringsfond, the Danish state's investment fund, were registered on 17 and 18 August 2026, and a new owner entry for Grac Société Simple followed on 24 September 2026. How much money came in, and from whom, has not been announced.
That timing matters. In its 2025 annual report, signed on 26 June 2026, management wrote that cash plus a EUR 2.6 million loan from existing shareholders received after the year end was "expected to last until August in 2026", and concluded that "there is significant doubt about the Company's ability to continue as a going concern". The auditor, EY, drew attention to a "material uncertainty" without modifying its opinion, according to the accounts filed with the Danish Business Authority. The August capital increase suggests at least some new equity arrived at the deadline; whether it covers "the next coming years", as the company hoped, cannot be checked from public records.
"The Company's ability to continue as a going concern is depending on its ability to raise additional funds."
CathVision ApS, annual report 2025, signed 26 June 2026The company's most recent public news is clinical. In January 2026 it reported that a research letter in Heart Rhythm, from a study at the University Hospital of Split in Croatia with Mount Sinai in New York, found a voltage threshold of about 0.1 mV that separated electrically silent tissue from residual activity after pulsed field ablation, measured with its system and its PFAnalyzer module, according to its announcement and Cardiac Rhythm News. PFAnalyzer does not appear in the FDA's 510(k) database, which lists only the two clearances described below.
The Technology: Cleaner Signals From Inside the Heart
During an ablation, electrophysiologists thread catheters into the heart and read electrograms, the local electrical signals, to find tissue that triggers the arrhythmia and to check that their burns or freezes have isolated it. The recording system sits between the catheters and the screen. CathVision's argument is that conventional systems pick up so much noise that they must filter heavily, and that filtering distorts or erases low-voltage signals. Its amplifier, called the Cube in the FDA clearance file, is designed to record them without a notch filter.
The CORDIS objective put three things together: a low-noise amplifier, AI software to identify "arrhythmogenic areas" and guide ablation, "particularly important for less experienced EP physicians", and a system that fits into existing hospital equipment. The product that reached the market is the ECGenius System, a replacement for a lab's existing recording system rather than an add-on. In March 2023 the company said hospitals had used it in place of LabSystem Pro and CardioLab, two established recording systems, during its limited US release, according to its own milestone release. That is a company claim; no hospital has published the switch.
The software modules are sold as Cardialytics. PVI Analyzer judges whether a pulmonary vein is electrically isolated, and Signal Complexity maps the complexity of atrial fibrillation signals. The FDA clearance limits both: PVI Analyzer "is a secondary measure of pulmonary vein isolation and should not replace traditional methods of confirming isolation", and for Signal Complexity "No clinical claims are made", according to the clearance file. CathVision sells the modules on a price-per-use basis.
Guidance, with limits
The EIC project promised AI that would guide physicians "to a successful ablation". What the FDA cleared is narrower: a second opinion on vein isolation and a complexity map with no clinical claim attached.
What the EIC Project Promised, and What CORDIS Shows
The proposal aimed to "mature, pilot and commercialise" the system and forecast accumulated revenue of €457 million and operating profit of €348 million over 2021 to 2025, 45 full-time jobs in its value chain and public savings of €1.1 billion by 2025, according to CORDIS. The final periodic report, covering August 2020 to July 2021, says the system passed external pre-clinical safety testing by TÜV SÜD, completed verification and validation, was piloted at "three sites globally" and that an FDA 510(k) process had been "completed and initiated". It reports one in-licensed atrial fibrillation algorithm, 14 new full-time and 3 part-time employees, and €13 million of new funding. It also moved the revenue window: the same €457 million forecast now covered 2023 to 2027, with commercialisation expected in mid-2022.
The first-in-human study registered on ClinicalTrials.gov, NCT05114382, enrolled 24 patients at IKEM in Prague and Rigshospitalet in Copenhagen between October 2020 and August 2021, measuring safety and the recording of electrograms below 20 microvolts. It is marked completed, with no results posted. The registry lists two sites, while the CORDIS report speaks of three. A separate CathVision study in Aalst, Belgium, NCT05477602, of automated AF cycle length and complexity measurement in 21 patients, posted its results in January 2026.
- Mature and pilot the systemDeliveredTÜV SÜD safety testing and pilots completed in 2021 per CORDIS; 24-patient study completed per ClinicalTrials.gov.
- US market approvalDelivered lateFDA 510(k) K220306 on 3 May 2022, nine months after the project ended.
- EU market approvalDelivered lateCE mark under the MDR in February 2025, three and a half years after the project ended.
- AI-assisted ablation guidancePartlyPVI Analyzer and Signal Complexity cleared in August 2023 (K223787), as a secondary measure and with no clinical claims.
- €457M accumulated revenueNot achievedRevenue is not disclosed; the gross result was negative in every year from 2022 to 2025.
- 45 full-time jobsNot achievedAverage staff peaked at 20 in 2024 and fell to 13 in 2025.
On the engineering, the record is good: a small company took an amplifier through safety testing, a first-in-human study and two FDA clearances. The regulatory work ran past the project's end, and the European clearance, which matters most to an EU-funded project, came last. The financial forecasts were never close.
What CathVision Has Achieved Since the Award
The FDA cleared the ECGenius System under 510(k) K220306 on 3 May 2022, as the company announced and Diagnostic and Interventional Cardiology reported. Its release noted the system was "Not approved for sale in the EU". The second clearance, K223787 on 4 August 2023, added the two Cardialytics modules. The CE mark under the EU Medical Device Regulation followed in February 2025, according to the company's announcement, dated 22 February, and Medical Device Network, which reported it on 20 February.
Customers are harder to pin down. In March 2023 CathVision said Cleveland Clinic, Johns Hopkins Hospital, Houston Methodist Hospital, IU Health Methodist Hospital, NYU Langone Health and Valley Health had "repeatedly utilized" the system during its limited release. Its 2025 annual report speaks only of "long term installations with daily usage at reference sites in the US market" and of "larger scale market adoption in 2026". The number of installed systems has never been published. No European customer has been announced since the CE mark.
The product kept moving. CathVision released software versions 3.3, 3.3.2, 3.4 and 3.5 during 2025, and the annual report counts 20 active patent families, up from 13 families (six granted) in March 2023. Version 3.4 came with the appointment of Wendy Dittmer, formerly of Philips, to the board, according to PR Newswire, and version 3.5 with Eric Thepaut's appointment as chair in December 2025.
The Money
CathVision has financed itself through repeated private rounds. VF Venture and Borean Innovation made an undisclosed "multi-million" investment in 2017, according to MassDevice. In May 2020 the company announced a round "of a total 13M euro" from existing and new investors, reported by PR Newswire and Silicon Canals; neither says how much of that was equity, loans or grants. In August 2022 existing investors added $7.2 million, according to the company and BioWorld, and in July 2023 a further $9 million brought the total raised to "nearly $30 million", according to the company and Cardiac Rhythm News. The 2025 accounts record capital increases of DKK 27.6 million that year.
The losses grew once the product was on sale. CathVision lost DKK 6.3 million in 2021 and between DKK 36.1 million and DKK 38.8 million in each of 2023, 2024 and 2025, for DKK 146.7 million over 2019 to 2025. As a class B company it does not disclose revenue, only a gross result, which has been negative every year since 2022. The 2025 accounts also reclassified the 2024 comparatives, turning a reported gross loss of DKK 12.5 million into DKK 22.0 million and cutting reported staff costs accordingly; the net loss is unchanged.
On paper, equity of DKK 80.1 million at the end of 2025 looks solid. Most of it is capitalised development: DKK 83.2 million of the DKK 101.9 million in total assets. Cash was DKK 13.5 million, a little more than a third of a year's loss.
What cannot be checked
Revenue, the number of installed systems, the size and investors of the August 2026 capital increase, and whether the shareholder loans have been extended or converted are not public. CathVision is not in the EIC Fund's list of 301 invested companies, consistent with its grant-only award; no other EU-funded project of the company is listed on CORDIS.
Why Europe Should Care
Cardiovascular disease is "responsible for 1.7 million deaths every year" in the EU, according to the World Heart Federation, and on 16 December 2025 the Commission unveiled its first plan dedicated to it, the Safe Hearts Plan, which covers prevention, early detection and "treatment and care". CathVision's CORDIS objective projected that atrial fibrillation cases in the EU would rise from 8.8 million in 2010 to 17.9 million by 2060, and flagged that heart disease in women is often misdiagnosed because their cardiac signals are smaller.
The project also fits the EIC's industrial logic: a European maker of core equipment for the electrophysiology lab, competing with established recording systems such as the LabSystem Pro and CardioLab that CathVision says hospitals replaced. But its commercial base so far is American. It sold first in the United States, where it has an office in Minnesota, and reached the European market last.
What the company told the EU
A world-first low-noise recording system with AI guidance, commercialised from 2021, €457 million in accumulated revenue by 2025 and 45 new jobs.
What the record shows
A working system with two FDA clearances and a CE mark, sold in limited numbers in the US, a negative gross result every year since 2022, 13 average staff in 2025 and a going-concern warning in 2026.
The Verdict
Built, cleared, not yet a business
The EIC grant helped CathVision finish what it promised to build: a low-noise recording system that regulators on both sides of the Atlantic have cleared and that cardiologists use. The AI guidance is narrower than the proposal described, and the revenue and jobs forecasts were not met in any year. Seven years after the award the company still depends on its shareholders to keep going, and an August 2026 capital increase is the latest sign that they have not walked away.
CathVision has not been asked for comment for this article. It is based entirely on public records, company statements and EU project data, linked throughout.
Sources
- CORDIS, CathVision Cube fact sheet and periodic report
- European Commission, EIC SME Instrument Phase 2 beneficiaries, 3 April 2019 cut-off
- PR Newswire, CathVision receives EU grant, 31 October 2019
- Danish Business Authority, CathVision ApS annual accounts 2018 to 2025
- North Data, CathVision ApS and ownr profile
- FDA 510(k) K220306 and K223787 clearance file
- ClinicalTrials.gov, NCT05114382 and NCT05477602
- CathVision, FDA clearance, 4 May 2022 and Diagnostic and Interventional Cardiology
- CathVision, milestones, 28 March 2023
- CathVision, Cardialytics clearance, 15 August 2023
- CathVision, CE mark, February 2025 and Medical Device Network
- PR Newswire, version 3.4 and board appointment, July 2025
- CathVision, new chair and version 3.5, 10 December 2025
- CathVision, PFAnalyzer, 29 January 2026 and Cardiac Rhythm News, 2 February 2026
- MassDevice, 2017 investment
- PR Newswire, €13M round, 19 May 2020 and Silicon Canals
- CathVision, $7.2M round, 17 August 2022 and BioWorld, 19 August 2022
- CathVision, $9M round, July 2023 and Cardiac Rhythm News, 19 July 2023
- European Innovation Council, EIC Fund invested companies
- European Commission, cardiovascular health and the Safe Hearts Plan and World Heart Federation
